COURSE LEADERS

The following JSY Teachers are currently providing courses approved by John:

COURSES

The following courses are currently available.  We hope to bring more courses to you in the near future:

JSY Foundation Course

Lead: Sandra Howling – Location: UK

  • 36 Hours Primary series foundation
  • 3 Weekends
  • Ashtanga Vinyasa Count
  • Focused 12
  • Spinal Stretches
  • Exploration of Anatomy, Philosophy, Theory
  • Approved course manual (with John’s permission)

Dates (you must attend all weekends):

  • Sat/Sun 19th/20th October 2019 10am-5pm both days
  • Sat/Sun 30th November – 1st December 2019 10am-5pm both days
  • Sat/Sun 4th/5th January 2020 10am-5pm both days

JSY 200 Hour Courses

Lead: Claire Berghorst – Location: Chobham, Surrey, UK

  • 200 Hours over 4 modules
  • Time in between to allow for learnings to settle and questions to arise
  • Formal study as well as hands on training, mentoring and assisting
  • Meditation, Pranayama & Chanting
  • Anatomy 
  • Philosophy led by Charlotte Anderson
  • Approved course manual (with John’s permission)

Dates (2019/2020 as indicated)

  • Module 1 – Saturday 12th October – Thursday 17th October, 2019
  • Module 2 – Saturday 9th November – Thursday 14th November
  • Module 3 – Saturday 8th February – Thursday 13th February, 2020
  • Module 4 – Saturday 14th March – Thursday 19th March

Lead: Beata Darowska – Location: Wroclaw, Poland

  • 200 Hours over 7 modules
  • Asanas, Adjustments, Teaching Practice, Anatamu
  • Guest lectures from Małgorzata Kobus-Kwiatkowska and Stu Girling
  • Philosophy led by Robert Gora
  • Approved course textbook from John

Dates

  • Module 1 – Friday 4th January – Sunday 6th January
  • Module 2 – Friday 1st February – Sunday 3rd February
  • Module 3 – Friday 1st March – Sunday 3rd March
  • Module 4 – Friday 29th March – Sunday 31st March
  • Module 5 – Wednesday 1st May – Saturday 4th May
  • Module 6 – Friday 10th May – Sunday 12th May
  • Module 7 – Friday 7th June – Sunday 9th June

Lead: Sandra Howling – Location: UK

  • 200 Hours over 4 modules
  • Asanas and Adjustments
  • Mod 1: Surya Namaskara A / B – end of Standing
  • Mod 2: Seated Postures
  • Mod 3: Bhujapidasana – Setu Bandasana
  • Mod 4: Urdva Danurasana, Drop Backs, Full Finishing, Restorative
  • Approved course manual (from Sandra approved by John)
  • David Keil’s online anatomy included in the cost (20hrs)

Each module is: 6 days,  8.30am – 5.30pm each day. 

Dates (modules will be repeated):

  • Module 1: Saturday 30th March – Thursday 4th April 2019
  • Module 2: Saturday 31st August 2019 – Thursday 5th September 2019
  • Module 3: Saturday 28th March 2020 – Thursday 2nd April 2020
  • Module 4: Saturday 29th August – Thursday 3rd September 2020

JSY 500 Hour Certification

Lead: Sandra Howling – Location: UK

  • 150 Hours over 3 weekends
  • 150 Hours assisting/hosting
  • Mod 1: Pasanana – Bakasana (+ dropbacks)
  • Mod 2: Bharadvajasana – Pincha (+ handstand press)
  • Mod 3: Karandavasana – end  (+ tick-tocks)
  • Approved course manual (from John)

Dates (modules will be repeated):

  • Module 1: Sat 15th – Fri 21st December 2018 9am – 5.30pm*
  • Module 2: Sat 20th July – Fri 26th July 2019 9am – 5.30pm*
  • Module 3: Sat 14th – Fri 20th December 2019 9am – 5.30pm*

*Timings are approximate

JSY Sanskrit Numbers

This Online course is currently CLOSED

This online course is just for a bit of fun.  It covers the basics of the first 30 Sanskrit Numbers, their pronunciation (from John), how they are combined into the practice and some simple exercises that may help students practice and remember the numbers.  It focuses on John’s technique of ‘Speak, Whisper, Think, Listen’.  There’s a small quiz but this is mostly for fun.  A certificate of completion is provided when the test is passed.  

Contents:-

  1. Sanskrit Numbers 1-12
    • numbers 1-12
    • focussed 12
    • Surya Namaskara A
    • Yoga Mala (Sun A)
  2. Sanskrit Numbers 13-30
    • Numbers 13-2
    • Numbers 21-30
  3. Sanskrit Numbers in practice
    • Counting to 30
    • Supta Padangusthasana
  4. Sanskrit Quiz (4 questions)

THIS COURSE IS CURRENTLY CLOSED